



For Immediate Release

Council Notes

October 24th, 2017 Organizational Meeting

- 1. Swearing in of Council. Town of Edson CAO Mike Derricott opened the meeting and introduced RCMP Staff Sergeant Peter King to swear in Council. Following the oath of Office, Council took their seats around the table and new Mayor Kevin Zahara took over as chair.
- 2. Council Boards and Committees. One of the duties as mayor is to appoint Councillors to specific boards and committees. While there was some discussion on the removal of the Trans Canada Yellowhead Highway Association from the committee list, the updated schedule was approved. The new list is attached.
- **3.** Subdivision and Development Appeal Board. Council approved the following members to the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board;
 - Debbie Burgess (Board Member)
 - Maria Carter (Board Member)
 - Jan Karasek (Board Member)
 - Val Bezushko (Alternate Board Member)
 - Douglas Jackson (Alternate Board Members)
- 4. Library Board. Council has extended Debra Edey-Halterman's term on the Library Board for one year, expiring October 31, 2018.
- 5. Meeting Schedule. The Council meeting schedule remains the same with Regular Council meetings being held the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 7:30 pm in the Council Chambers of the Edson Civic Building, and Committee of the Whole meetings being held the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 10:00 am in the Council Chambers of the Edson Civic Building.
- 6. Deputy Mayor. Council has agreed to continue rotating the position of Deputy Mayor every 4 months in alphabetical order. Following this, Councillor Baier was appointed as Deputy Mayor commencing immediately and expiring the first day of March 2018.
- 7. Legislating Responsibilities. Council received a memo from CAO Mike Derricott, outlining the legislative responsibilities of Council, as information.

Media Contact: Steve Bethge Communications Coordinator Town of Edson 780-723-4401 steveb@edson.ca www.edson.ca